## Call for papers

The research community *Comparing and Contrasting Languages and Cultures* (CoCoLaC) invites proposals for papers to be presented at an international conference on

# Comparative Approaches to Pragmatics at the University of Helsinki, March 22<sup>nd</sup> & 23<sup>rd</sup>, 2018

We expect papers dealing especially with the following two areas of research:

## Intercultural pragmatics with focuses on

- · communicative practices in different cultures and languages,
- historical pragmatics,
- · pragmaticalization and syntactic change,
- pragmatic aspects of phonetics,
- the acquisition of pragmatic competence in foreign languages,
- · pragmatic aspects of translation and interpreting practices,
- the pragmatics of lingua franca interaction.

## Cyberpragmatics as part of Digital Humanities and with a focus on

- · communication via the Internet,
- · interactions in the so-called social media, with an emphasis on features of the media influencing the communication, intentions, interpretations, etc.

The conference languages are French, German, Italian, Spanish and English. If the paper is presented in a language other than English, we kindly ask speakers to provide either PowerPoint slides, handouts or at least a summary in English.

### **Invited speakers:**

Patricia von Münchow (Université Paris Descartes / France) Jörg Kilian (Ernst-Albrechts-Universität Kiel / Germany) Marcella Bertuccelli Papi (Università di Pisa / Italy) Francisco Yus (Universidad de Alicante / Spain) Elizabeth Couper-Kuhlen (Berlin / Germany)

## Conference fee: 80 €

Reduced conference fee (for students and PhD-students, pensioners, unemployed researchers): 50 €

**Abstract proposals** of 1,500 to 2,500 characters (including spaces and references) in one of the conference languages are to be sent to the address comp-prag@helsinki.fi **by September 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2017**. We also invite proposals from PhD students.

The scientific board will send notices of acceptance by the middle of October, 2017.

#### **Organising committee:**

Enrico Garavelli Eva Havu Tuuli Holttinen Hartmut Lenk Begoña Sanroman